REHEARSAL SCHEDULE

 

Orchestral rehearsals normally take place on Wednesday evenings from 7:30pm to 9:30pm at the Drive Methodist Church, St Annes FY8 1LH.  We are always interested in welcoming new players of a good standard.  Please contact the conductor for more information.

 

(Checklist for preparing tea & coffee – please help on the rota if you can)

 

2018/19 SEASON

Click here to download a PDF file of the 2018/19 rehearsal schedule

 

Winter concert – Sat 1 December 2018, United Reformed Church, St Annes

 

MENDELSSOHN: Overture, Ruy Blas (wiki imslp youtube | 2222 4230 T str, 7’)

DVORAK: Cello Concerto, op.104 (wiki imslp youtube | 2222 3231 T str CELLO, 40’)

BRAHMS: Symphony No.3, op.90 (wiki imslp youtube | 2223 4230 T str, 33’)

 

STRINGS – Tricky bits (PDF)

First movt: 40-48, 59-70, 77-90, 165-170, 183-201

Second movt: 62-107

Third movt: Ensemble beginning to A, 77-87, 136-150

Fourth movt: 8-18 (lower strings), 75-95, 149-179, 229-246, 252-end

 

Wed 24 October. – Strings Only

Wed 31 October.

Wed 7 November

Wed 14 November

Wed 21 November – SOLOIST

Wed 28 November, 7:30pm at United Reformed Church, St Annes

Sat 1 December 2018, 2:00pm at United Reformed Church, St Annes

CONCERT - SATURDAY 1st DECEMBER 2018 at 7:30pm

 

Spring concert – Sat 23 March 2019, Fairhaven Methodist Church

 

ROSSINI: Overture, La Cenerentola ‘Cinderella’ (wiki imslp youtube | 2222 2210 T+1 str, 8’)

BOYCE: Symphony No.4 (wiki youtube | 0200 2000 str, 8’)

SULLIVAN: Overture, Iolanthe

HANDEL: Organ Concerto No.13 ‘The Cuckoo and the Nightingale’ (imslp youtube | 0201 0000 str ORGAN, 14’)

MOZART: Symphony No.31 “Paris” (wiki imslp youtube | 2222 2200 T str, 18’)

HOLST: A Moorside Suite (wiki imslp | 2222 2220 T+3 str, 14’)

 

Wed 16 January

Wed 23 January

Wed 30 January

Wed 6 February

Wed 13 February

Wed 20 February.

Wed 27 February

Wed 6 March

Wed 13 March

Wed 20 March, 7:30pm at Fairhaven Methodist Church

Sat 23 March 2019, 2:00pm at Fairhaven Methodist Church

CONCERT - SATURDAY 23rd MARCH 2019 at 7:30pm

 

Summer concert – Sat 29 June 2018, Church Road Methodist Church

 

 

Music for an English Summer Evening

 

QUILTER: Children’s Overture (3322 4331 T+3 hp str,12’)

TOMLINSON: First Suite of English Folk-Dances (2222 4230 T+1 hp str, 12’)

BUTTERWORTH: A Shropshire Lad (2332 4231 T hp str, 11’)

DELIUS: Summer Night on the River (2122 2000 str, 6’)

WALTON: Spitfire Prelude and Fugue (2222 4231 T+1 hp str, 8’)

VAUGHAN WILLIAMS: Symphony No.3 “Pastoral” (2222 4231 T+2 hp str, 36’)

 

Wed 27 March

Wed 1 May

Wed 8 May

Wed 15 May

Wed 22 May

Wed 29 May.

Wed 5 June

Wed 12 June

Wed 19 June

Wed 26 June, 7:30pm at Church Road Methodist Church, St Annes

Sat 29 June 2019, 2:00pm at Church Road Methodist Church, St Annes

CONCERT - SATURDAY 29th JUNE 2019 at 7:30pm

 

Wed 3 July 2019, 7:30pm Planning meeting at 11 Wildings Lane, St Annes

 

PLEASE PUT THESE DATES IN YOUR DIARY AND KEEP THEM FREE